Jefferson Lab > CSO > University Relations
Privacy and Security Notice

Joint and Bridge Appointments


Joint Faculty

Jefferson Lab is fortunate to have five graduate universities in its immediate neighborhood: The College of William and Mary, Christopher Newport University, Hampton University, Norfolk State University, and Old Dominion University. We also have one appointment at Rutgers University. It has proven particularly effective for Jefferson Lab and these universities to share staff: while sharing the costs equally, each side receives what they consider to be more than the benefit of a half-time staff member. Especially advantageous for Jefferson Lab is the large resident graduate student population these researchers bring to the Laboratory.

Current Joint Faculty

Hampton University
Jose Goity, goity@jlab.org
Michael Kohl,
kohlm@jlab.org

The College of William & Mary
Michael Kelley, mkelley@jlab.org
Kostas Orginos, kostas@jlab.org
Andre Walker-Loud, walkloud@jlab.org

Christopher Newport University
Ed Brash, brash@jlab.org
Robert Fersch, fersch@jlab.org
David Heddle, heddle@jlab.org
Peter Monaghan, peter@jlab.org

Norfolk State University
Carlos Salgado, salgado@jlab.org

Old Dominion University
Ian Balitsky, balitsky@jlab.org
Jean Delayen, delayen@jlab.org
Josef Dudek, dudek@jlab.org
Anatoly Radyushkin, radyush@jlab.org
Rocco Schiavilla, schiavil@jlab.org
Wally Van Orden, vanorden@jlab.org

The Catholic University of America
Tanja Horn, hornt@jlab.org

Indiana University
Adam Szczepaniak, aszczepa@indiana.edu

Bridged Faculty

Jefferson Lab has considered, on a case-by-case basis, proposals for partnerships to build or critically strengthen Jefferson Lab-related research in the nation's universities. These partnerships are based on Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) and have built into them a variety of terms (duration, cost-sharing basis, etc.) suited to each individual university's circumstances.

In all cases, the University undertakes to treat the person hired as a regular, tenure-track faculty member. These faculty are, however, released on a pro rata basis (e.g. 50% time if costs are shared or a 50-50 basis) to work on Jefferson Lab programmatic activities.

Current Bridged Faculty

Florida International University
Lei Guo, lguo@jlab.org

University of Connecticut
Andrew Puckett, puckett@jlab.org

The George Washington University
Michael Doring, mdoring@jlab.org

University of New Hampshire
Patricia Solvignon, solvigno@jlab.org