Previous Leadership - Andrew Hutton


Andrew Hutton
Associate Director of the Accelerators

Dr. Andrew Hutton is the Associate Director of Accelerators at Jefferson Lab, heading a Division of 150 accelerator scientists, engineers and technicians. He has more than 40 years of experience in all aspects of forefront accelerator projects (LEP, SLC, PEP-II, CEBAF - the Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility) including project definition, design, creating a project team, construction, commissioning and operations.

He initially came to Jefferson Lab to lead the commissioning of the CEBAF accelerator, a 6 GeV, recirculating superconducting electron accelerator; then stayed to establish and lead the operation of the accelerator for nuclear physics research.

Prior to Jefferson Lab, he worked at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), Stanford, California, initially in charge of construction of the damping rings, then jointly leading the commissioning of the Stanford Linear Collider, and finally heading a successful multi-laboratory (Lawrence-Berkeley National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, SLAC), design study for the PEP-II B-Factory.

Prior to SLAC, he spent nine years at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland, responsible for the global layout and detailed optical design of LEP, the world's largest electron-positron collider. He was eventually responsible for coordinating all the LEP parameters and for preparing all external information on LEP: relations with the press, a traveling exhibition, editor of a bilingual project journal, etc.

Born in England, he gained an entrance exhibition (scholarship) to Cambridge University, England where he obtained an M.A. (Honours) degree in Natural Sciences, followed by a Ph.D. in Physics from London University, England.

In recent years, he served as chairman of the Machine Advisory Committee of KEKB, the B Factory built at KEK, Tsukuba, Japan, continuing as chairman of the Accelerator Review Committee for SuperKEKB; member of the Fermilab Accelerator Advisory Committee (AAC); member of the Spallation Neutron Source Accelerator Advisory Committee (SNS-AAC): and member of the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) Mechanical Engineering Advisory Board. Most recently he was the chairman of the International Particle Accelerator Conference, IPAC'15 held in Richmond, Va