JPOS Poster



International Workshop on Physics with Positrons at Jefferson Lab
September 12-15, 2017
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
Newport News, VA

Registration Announcement

Registration will open with second announcement, Spring 2017.


This 4 day workshop plans to explore the scientific basis for polarized and unpolarized positron beams at JLab in the context of 12 GeV CEBAF, the proposed Jefferson Lab Electron Ion Collider (JLEIC), and also for low energy applications. An accelerator session dedicated to positron production and beam formation for each scenario completes the scientific program.   Collecting the motivation and requirements for a positron physics experimental program within the workshop proceedings as a basis for a Jefferson Lab Positron Physics white paper is a key goal of the meeting.  The workshop will cover the following topics:

  • Multi-photon exchange
  • Deeply virtual Compton scattering
  • Electroweak structure of hadrons
  • Heavy quark production
  • Beyond the Standard Model physics
  • Low energy polarized positron beam applications
  • Polarized electron and positron sources
  • Multi-turn accumulation and fast kickers
  • Positron beams at CEBAF, JLEIC and LERF

The workshop agenda will be composed of plenary sessions with both invited talks steered by an international organizing committee and contributed talks.  A reception and networking/poster session are also planned.  Students are especially encouraged to contribute to the workshop poster session.  Those interested in presenting at the workshop are encouraged to contact the organizing committee

The workshop is jointly supported by Jefferson Lab, Jefferson Science Associates and IPN Orsay.

International Advisory Committee:
Jim Alexander (Cornell University Ithaca)
Peter Blunden (University of Manitoba)
David Cassidy (University College London)
Abhay Deshpande (Stony Brook University)
Markus Diehl (DESY Hamburg)
Andrew Hutton (JLab)
Atsuo Kawasuso (QST Takasaki)
Uta Klein (University of Liverpool)
Franck Maas (Helmholz Institute Mainz)
Zein-Eddine Meziani (Temple University)
Richard Milner (MIT)
Alessandro Polini (INFN Bologna)
Jianwei Qiu (JLab)
Frank Sabatié (CEA Saclay)
Anthony Thomas (University of Adelaide)
Paolo Valente (INFN Frascati)
Andreas Wagner (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)
Ferdinand Willeke (BNL)
Rikutaro Yoshida (JLab)
Franck Zimmermann (CERN)
Organizing Committee:
John Arrington (ANL)
Marco Battaglieri (INFN Genova)
Tony Forest (ISU)
Yulia Furletova (JLab)
Joe Grames, co-Chair (JLAB)
Charles Hyde (ODU)
Wally Melnitchouk (JLAB)
Vasiliy Morozov (JLAB)
Farida Selim (BGSU)
Eric Voutier, co-Chair (IPNO)
Xiaochao Zheng (UVa)

Contact for additional information.

ODU logo