Poster

DOE ASW2017


DOE Accelerator Safety Workshop 2017
August 15-17, 2017
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
Newport News, VA

Announcement

The annual DOE Accelerator Safety Workshop (ASW) will be held at Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility on August 15-17, 2017. The workshop is an open forum for individuals affiliated with US or International accelerator facilities where each organization can present information/experiences on key operational and safety themes and share lessons learned.

For information regarding visa information, or general conference information, please contact asw2017@jlab.org.

5/11/2017
Continuing Education Credits have been applied for with the Continuing Education Committee of the American Academy of Health Physics.

Motivation

The ASW is designed to encourage and improve communications across the DOE complex, especially across the DOE Accelerator Community. Improved communications has led to the development of a new Order (DOE 420.2C), development of a new Guide (DOE G 420.2-1), and a new Technical Standard (DOE-STD- 6004-2016) to address Clearance of Material from Accelerator Facilities.

Topics Include

  • Major Accelerator Project Highlights
  • Safety Configuration Management
  • Hazard Assessment Methodology
  • Decommissioning and Sustainability
  • Succession Planning
  • Safety Instrumentation and Software Applications
  • ARR Experience
  • Colloquium Talk/Work Planning and Control
  • Safety Management Strategies and Systems
  • Best Practices

Each Topical Area Plenary Session will:

  • have an “Operational Experience” and “Lessons Learned” component
  • finish up with a panel discussion hosted by presenters

ASW 2017 Planning Team

Anderson

John

jea@fnal.gov

Blackistone

Judith

judith.blackistone@science.doe.gov

Bragg

Patrick

patrick.bragg@inl.gov

Cossairt

Don

cossairt@fnal.gov

Davis

Scott

scott.davis@science.doe.gov

Ecclesine

Amy

aecclesine@lbl.gov

Fanning

Harry

fanning@jlab.org

(Co-Chair)

Fish

Craig

fish2@llnl.gov

Freeman

Dave

freemandw@ornl.gov

May

Bob

may@jlab.org

(Co-Chair)

Seabury

John

jseabury@slac.stanford.edu

Stirrup

Tim

tsstirr@sandia.gov

Wolter

Maddie

maddiew@fnal.gov