Jefferson Lab > Events > NSTAR2011
Privacy and Security Notice


The 8th International Workshop on the Physics of Excited Nucleons
May 17-20, 2011
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
Newport News, Virginia USA


The 8th International Workshop on the Physics of Excited Nucleons - NSTAR2011 - will take place at Jefferson Laboratory from 17th to 20th May, 2011.

The excitation spectrum of the nucleon provides a powerful theatre in which to hone our understanding of QCD in the strong-coupling regime. Thus there are major experimental, theoretical and computational efforts that aim to explore both the spectrum and the structure of excited nucleons. Dedicated experimental programs exist to perform accurate measurements of meson photo- and electro-production off the nucleon in order to discover its excitations, and determine its internal structure. QCD-inspired models and Schwinger-Dyson solutions of QCD aim to identify the key degrees of freedom describing the nucleon, while lattice QCD strives to provide first principles calculations of a precision that can confront experiment. The purpose of this workshop is to present the latest results in each of these areas, and explore how together they can build a picture of nucleon excitations and the nature of QCD in the low-energy regime.

The program will comprise a series of invited plenary talks, together with contributed parallel sessions and a poster session. The topics will include:

For general inquiries:

Participants may also want to attend the Satellite Workshop May 16th on "Nucleon Resonance Structure in Exclusive Electroproduction at High Photon Virtualities with the CLAS 12 Detector"

Local Organizing Committee:
V. Burkert (Chair)
J.-P. Chen
L. Elouadrhiri
M. Jones
T.-S. H. Lee
V. Mokeev
M. Pennington
D. Richards
A. Sandorfi

International Advisory Committee:
A. D'Angelo (Rome)
R. Beck (Bonn)
V. Braun (Regensburg)
S. Brodsky (SLAC)
S. Capstick (Florida State University)
H. Gao (Duke University)
M. Giannini (U. Genoa)
R. Gothe (South Carolina)
D. Ireland (Glasgow)
F. Klein (Bonn)
K.-F. Liu (Kentucky)
U.-G. Meissner (Bonn)
U. Mosel (Giessen)
T. Nakano (Osaka)
B. Nefkens (UCLA)
E. Oset (Valencia)
D.-O. Riska (Academy of Finland)
C. Roberts (ANL)
B. Saghai (CEA/Saclay)
X. Shen (IHEP, Beijing)
H. Ströher (FZ Jülich)
A. Thomas (Adelaide)
L. Tiator (Mainz)
S. Wallace (Maryland)
R. Workman (George Washington University)
S.-N. Yang (Taiwan University)
Q. Zhao (IHEP, Beijing),
Z. Zhao (Univ. of Science & Technology, China)
B. Zou (IHEP, Beijing)


The Workshop is sponsored by Jefferson Lab, Forschungszentrum Juelich,, and Jefferson Science Associates

logo_fzj.jpg logo_fzj.jpg