Jefferson Lab > Events > TFSRF
Privacy and Security Notice


5th International Workshop on Thin Films and New Ideas for Pushing the Limits of RF Superconductivity
July 18-20, 2012
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
Newport News, VA


The fifth workshop in this series will continue the goal of providing a forum for new initiatives in innovative thin films and related technology to advance future generations of superconducting RF accelerators. Present superconducting RF accelerator technology is based on predominately bulk niobium, for which the state of the art in performance is reaching the theoretical limit. Thin film technology offers the prospect of considerable savings in fabrication costs and opens the way with innovative technologies to the use of alternative superconducting materials with enhanced intrinsic properties such as critical temperature and critical field. Intensive and coordinated R&D effort is of decisive importance for the scientific Community.

The primary aim of the workshop is to support this initiative by providing an opportunity to bring together individuals and institutions working in this effort and infusing expertise of specialists from related disciplines (superconductivity, plasma physics, material science, nanotechnology, RF engineering and industry. Reports on work from each participating group and extensive discussions on existing problems, new ideas and programs for the future will constitute the primary focus of the program.

Register for the workshop and reserve your accommodations early! The room block reservation expires June 18, 2012, and the early conference registration deadline is July 1, 2012. Abstract submission deadline is June 30, 2012.

Workshop Chair:


Local Organizing Committee:

Anne-Marie Valente-Feliciano
Larry Phillips

International Committee:

V. PALMIERI (INFN and Univ. of Padua, ITALY)
A. ANDERS (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, USA)
S. CALATRONI (CERN, Switzerland)
A. GUREVICH (Old Dominion University, USA))
L. PHILLIPS (Jefferson Lab, USA)
T. TAJIMA (Los Alamos National Lab, USA)
R. VAGLIO (Univ. Napoli and CNR-SPIN, ITALY)
X. X. Xi (Temple Univ., USA)

Coordination and Secretariat:


For scientific, programmatic or logistical inquiries please contact


Event Sponsors:

AES-Logo.jpg ident_002B5F.jpg ident_002B5F.jpg
ident_002B5F.jpg Muons-Inc.jpg ident_002B5F.jpg