Jefferson Lab Director

Dr. Hugh E. Montgomery is the Director of the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility (Jefferson Lab).

As the lab's chief executive officer, he is responsible for ensuring funding for the lab and for setting policy and program direction. In addition, he oversees the delivery of the lab program and ensures that Jefferson Lab complies with all regulations, laws and contract requirements. Montgomery also is responsible for developing and ensuring relationships with Jefferson Lab's stakeholders.

In addition to serving as the third director in the history of Jefferson Lab, Montgomery is the president of Jefferson Science Associates, LLC. JSA, a joint venture between the Southeastern Universities Research Association and PAE Applied Technologies, which was formed to operate and manage Jefferson Lab for the U.S. Department of Energy.

An internationally recognized particle physicist, Montgomery began his career in 1972 as a research associate at the Daresbury Laboratory and Rutherford High Energy Laboratory in Great Britain. In 1978, he became a staff member at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland, where he remained until joining the staff at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Batavia, IL, as an associate scientist in 1983. Montgomery spent the next 25 years of his career at Fermilab, occupying a number of positions within the laboratory management before being named associate director for research at Fermilab, a position he held until joining Jefferson Lab in 2008. As associate director, he was responsible for the particle physics and particle astrophysics research programs at Fermilab.

Montgomery's research has focused on expanding the understanding of the fundamental components of our universe and how they interact. He was involved with muon scattering experiments at CERN and Fermilab, and in the DZero Experiment on the Fermilab Tevatron Collider. Active on the experiment for 12 years, he was co-spokesman from 1993-99, which covered the time of the observation of the top quark.

In addition to presenting numerous invited talks, Montgomery has been actively engaged in many professional committees. Notably, as well as participating in two HEPAP Sub-panels, he served as: a member of the Review of Department of High Energy Physics of Tata Institute for Fundamental Research located in India; a member of the FOM Review of NIKHEF in Holland; a member of the APS Panofsky Prize Committee; chairman of the Elementary Particle Physics Review committee, Helmholtz Society, Germany; chairman of the Atlas Oversight Committee, STFC, England; member of the SLAC Policy Committee; chair of the Evaluation Committee of Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare and the Large Hadron Collider Committee, CERN.

In 2016, Montgomery was awarded the prestigious Glazebrook Medal by the Institute of Physics, a society with a worldwide membership of more than 50,000 who work to advance physics education, research and application. He was recognized for “his leadership at the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility and distinguished research in high-energy physics.” In 2015, Lancaster University, Lancashire, England, conferred an honorary doctoral degree upon Montgomery.

A native of Great Britain, Montgomery earned a bachelor's and Ph.D. in physics from Manchester University, England.


Jefferson Lab's Leadership Team