Jefferson Lab > CSO > University Relations
Privacy and Security Notice

Joint and Bridge Appointments

Joint Faculty

Jefferson Lab is fortunate to have five graduate universities in its immediate neighborhood: The College of William and Mary, Christopher Newport University, Hampton University, Norfolk State University, and Old Dominion University. We also have one appointment at Rutgers University. It has proven particularly effective for Jefferson Lab and these universities to share staff: while sharing the costs equally, each side receives what they consider to be more than the benefit of a half-time staff member. Especially advantageous for Jefferson Lab is the large resident graduate student population these researchers bring to the Laboratory.

Current Joint Faculty

Hampton University
Alberto Accardi,
Eric Christy,
Jose Goity,
Michael Kohl,

The College of William & Mary
Jozef Dudek,
Kostas Orginos,

Christopher Newport University
Ed Brash,
Robert Fersch,
David Heddle,
Peter Monaghan,

Norfolk State University
Carlos Salgado,

Old Dominion University
Ian Balitsky,
Jean Delayen,
Anatoly Radyushkin,
Ted Rogers,
Rocco Schiavilla,
Wally Van Orden,

The Catholic University of America
Tanja Horn,

Indiana University
Adam Szczepaniak,

Bridged Faculty

Jefferson Lab has considered, on a case-by-case basis, proposals for partnerships to build or critically strengthen Jefferson Lab-related research in the nation's universities. These partnerships are based on Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) and have built into them a variety of terms (duration, cost-sharing basis, etc.) suited to each individual university's circumstances.

In all cases, the University undertakes to treat the person hired as a regular, tenure-track faculty member. These faculty are, however, released on a pro rata basis (e.g. 50% time if costs are shared or a 50-50 basis) to work on Jefferson Lab programmatic activities.

Current Bridged Faculty

Indiana University
Emilie Passemar,

University of Connecticut
Andrew Puckett,

The George Washington University
Michael Doring,

Mississippi State University
Lamiaa El Fassi

The College of William & Mary
Justin Stevens
Phiala Shanahan

Pennsylvania State University
Alexei Prokudin,