Jefferson Lab > Leadership Team
Privacy and Security Notice

Previous Leadership

Accelerator Associate Director, Swapan Chattopadhyay

Dr. Swapan Chattopadhyay
Associate Director for Accelerator Operations, Research & Development

Dr. Swapan Chattopadhyay is the Associate Director for Accelerator Operations, Research & Development where he is responsible for all aspects of Jefferson Lab's accelerator program including research and development, as well as operations, maintenance and upgrades of the Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility. Dr. Chattopadhyay evaluates the programs on a yearly basis to continually enhance them. He is responsible for implementing JLab policies and programs as they relate to the accelerator division. He also develops and ensures productive relationships with appropriate JLab stakeholders including national and international collaborations, funding agencies and managing organizations.

Dr. Chattopadhyay leads a multi-disciplinary team of more than 350 in a multi-faceted high-tech environment involving the physics of particles and light beams, forefront electronics, superconductivity, surface science, cryogenics, and computer process control applications. This team is currently taking part in the multi-lab effort to provide design, engineering and construction support for the $1.4 billion Spallation Neutron Source in Oak Ridge, Tennessee and has joined the international TESLA collaboration for linear electron-positron colliders based on superconducting radio-frequency linear accelerators. In addition, the division is working on forefront research and development of unique sources of coherent, powerful and ultrashort pulses of light of all colors in the visible and beyond for various applications in basic and applied sciences and industry. The team interacts with the academia and industry via the Applied Research Center in the Jefferson Center for Research and Technology.

Dr. Chattopadhyay is known for his contributions in physics and accelerator technology impacting many fields: high energy physics, nuclear science, synchrotron radiation, FELs and ultrafast phenomena mark a few of his major contributions. The Advanced Light Source (ALS) at Berkeley Lab for synchrotron radiation sciences, the particle collider (PEP-II) at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) for studies of the matter-antimatter asymmetry in nature and the recent advances in various femtosecond-x-ray source development towards studies of ultrafast phenomena.

Following undergraduate studies in India, Dr. Chattopadhyay received his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1982. Following a two year association as Scientific Attache at CERN (1982-1984), he returned to Berkeley Lab in 1984, where he made leading contributions to the ALS from its design to commissioning (1984-1992) and was the Founder/Director (1992) of the Center for Beam Physics until his move to Jefferson Lab in 2001. While at LBNL he contributed to the development of accelerators in Italy, India, Korea, Japan, Taiwan, People's Republic of China and at SLAC. He established the first collaboration between LBNL and Jefferson Lab on the development of FELs based on the superconducting radio frequency technology.

Named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1994, Dr. Chattopadhyay shared the Halbach Prize (1996, LBNL, USA) and received the U. S. Department of Energy's Certificate of Distinction for Mentorship in Energy Research Undergraduate Laboratory Fellowship Program at national laboratories. In 1995, he was honored by the Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute as a Distinguished Visiting Scientist of the Year. He is cited in the 2000 Outstanding Scientists of the Twentieth Century for "Outstanding Contributions in Particle Physics, Beams and Femto Science".

Dr. Chattopadhyay serves in various capacities on the Executive Board of the APS's Division of Physics of Beams, is a member of the European Physical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Optical Society of America, and is a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He serves on the Beam Dynamics panel of the International Committee for Future Accelerators and the Governor's Advisory Board on the Virginia Biotechnology Initiative. He has been Editor-in-Chief (Western Hemisphere) of the international journal Particle Accelerators and the editor of many books and proceedings and reviews technical journals, research proposals and government agencies.