• Installation staff removing a dipole magnet for modification

Installation Group


The group is responsible for installing and maintaining vacuum components, beamlines, girders, beam dumps, Low Conductivity Water (LCW) systems, nitrogen, air and argon gas lines, and magnets. Many of the components required for installation are fabricated by the group; including beampipes, stands, brackets, etc.

The group also maintains an available spares inventory for Accelerator components, such as Ion pumps, Fast and Slow VAT valves, solenoids, cold cathode gauge tubes, hardware, filters, and Cryomodule parts as well. Equipment used and maintained by the group includes forklifts, welders, turbo-molecular pumps, scroll pumps, welding machines, roughing pumps and a variety of leak detectors.

Our goal is to provide professional and timely service to our customers. Our main customers include the main accelerator (CEBAF), Experimental Halls A, B, and C, the Test Lab and the Low Energy Recirculator Facility (LERF, formerly known as the Free-Electron Laser).

Name Phone Office Email
Neil Wilson
Installation Group Leader
(757) 269-7265 55/1539-1 wilsonn@jlab.org
Mike Beck
(757) 269-5297 36-210 jbeck@jlab.org
David Etheridge
  36-210 davidwe@jlab.org
Bern Johnson
(757) 269-6494 55/1539-4 bmj@jlab.org
Chris Sumner
  36-210 csumner@jlab.org
Ricky Taylor
(757) 269-7627 55/1539 tsessoms@jlab.org
David Wilder   36-210 wilder@jlab.org