2005 Presidential Rank Awards

2005 Presidential Rank Awards

Dear Colleagues,
I am pleased to inform you that two senior managers of the Office of Science have been honored by President Bush with Presidential Rank Awards for 2005.

Each year, the President honors an elite group of career members of the Senior Executive Service who are selected for their outstanding leadership accomplishments and service over an extended period of time in some of the nation's most critical positions in the federal government. Each Presidential Rank Award winner receives a cash bonus and a framed certificate signed by the President.

Ms. G. Leah Dever and Dr. Dennis Kovar have won the 2005 Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Executives.

Ms. Dever was recognized "for consistent outstanding performance in improving operational management at the Department of Energy." Leah served as Associate Director for Laboratory Policy and Infrastructure in the Office of Science until her retirement in June 2006.

Dr. Kovar was recognized "for his consistently outstanding performance and leadership during his more than 14 years of Federal Service." Dennis has been Associate Director of the Office of Science for Nuclear Physics since 2003.

I congratulate them both for their accomplishments. Their 2005 Presidential Rank Awards reflect very well on them ? and also serve to highlight the wonderfully high caliber employees doing such important work for our nation in the DOE Office of Science.

I hope you will join me in congratulating Leah and Dennis for their well deserved 2005 Presidential Rank Awards.

Raymond L. Orbach
Under Secretary for Science
U.S. Department of Energy

content by Debbie Magaldi" content="magaldi@jlab.org

maintained by webmaster@jlab.org