JSA accepting nominations for 2017 Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award

JSA accepting nominations for 2017 Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award

About the JSA Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award. The JSA Programs Committee established the Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award in 2011 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions, including technical achievements, to experimental and/or theoretical research related to the nuclear physics program at the Jefferson Lab.

The biennial award consists of a certificate and a $10,000 honorarium, presented to the honoree at the Jefferson Lab Annual Users Group meeting. Travel for the recipient is provided by JSA.

Nomination Guidelines. An individual may submit only one nomination or support letter for a candidate in the award competition. The nomination package should include:

  • Nomination letter describing the candidate's merits including research achievements and contributions
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of publications
  • No more than four letters in support of the nomination from eminent scientists in the nominee's field
  • Note: Of the nomination letter and the four letters of support, one and only one must be from the nominee's home institution and at least one from outside the nominee's home country.

Nomination Due Date
Nomination packages are due by January 31, 2017 and should be submitted electronically to jsaprograms@sura.org with the subject line: "2017 JSA ONP Nomination." Acknowledgement of receipt of nomination packages will be provided via email after submission.

Selection Process
The JSA Programs Committee chair will appoint a selection committee to review nominations and make a recommendation for award. The selection committee may consider other information as necessary to ensure a fair and objective selection process.

The prize will ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment

The JSA Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award is funded by the JSA Initiatives Fund Program. For questions about this award, contact the SURA Chief Governance Officer Elizabeth L. Lawson. SURA is the Administrative Member for JSA. The SURA Chief Governance Office manages and supports the activities and programs of the JSA Programs Committee.

For additional information, refer to: http://www.jsallc.org/IF/17ONPAward.html