CEBAF Establishes Partnership and Rewards Inventors

The Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility (CEBAF) will formalize a partnership with the Center for Innovative Technology (CIT) at 1:30 p.m. January 17, 1996, at CEBAF.

CIT, based in Herndon, VA, will market CEBAF inventions to industry. This will include establishing specific working relationships and programs between CEBAF, industry and CIT to best achieve technology transfer.

Five scientists will also be rewarded at the ceremony for inventions they created while pursuing CEBAF's fundamental research mission. The Southeastern Universities Research Association, Inc. (SURA), recently received three patents for these inventions and will share any future royalties with the inventors. Federal regulations prevent Department of Energy laboratories, such as CEBAF, from applying for and receiving patents. CEBAF, however, rewards these scientists $500 for each spin-off technology.

The CEBAF scientists and inventions are:

  • Javier Gomez, Stanislaw Majewski, and Andrew Weisenberger for the invention of a Non Cross Talk Multi-Channel Photomultiplier Using Guided Electron Multipliers;
  • Ganapati Myneni for a High Sensitivity Leak Detection Method and Apparatus:
  • and Ganapati Myneni and Peter Kneisel for the invention of a Metal Sponge for Cryosorption Pumping Applications.

CEBAF, in Newport News, VA, is managed and operated for the U.S. Department of Energy by the SURA, a consortium of 41 universities in the southeast.

CIT strives to enhance the Commonwealth's competitiveness by providing businesses with access to the state's technology resources and assist in the creation and retention of high technology jobs and businesses.

To arrange a visit to CEBAF or to receive more information, please contact Linda Ware at (757) 269-7689.


Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, manages and operates the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, or Jefferson Lab, for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. JSA is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Southeastern Universities Research Association, Inc. (SURA).

DOE’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit