Media Advisory - Virginia Regional High School Science Bowl

What: Virginia Regional High School Science Bowl

When: Saturday, Feb. 7, 2009. Round robin competition runs from 9 a.m. - noon. The double elimination, semi-final and finalist rounds run from 1:30 - 5 p.m.  Awards presentations will be made immediately after the final round.

Where: CEBAF Center Auditorium, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, 12000 Jefferson Avenue, Newport News, Va.

Details: Twenty-two teams, representing high schools from across the state are participating in this annual, academic competition. Catch the excitement as several high schools join the competition for the first time, and as the Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology team, Alexandra, works to defend its seven-year run as the Virginia Regional Science Bowl winner, and takes the next step in reclaiming the title of National Science Bowl champion after the team's defeat.

News media are invited to attend all or any part of the daylong event. Please contact the JLab Public Affairs representative listed below by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 6, if you plan on attending any part of the tournament, or if your news agency would like to receive the results at the end of Saturday's competition.

Contact: Debbie Magaldi, or (757) 269-5102

Participating Schools  (in alphabetical order):
Bishop Sullivan Catholic High School, Virginia Beach
Broadwater Academy, Exmore
Charlottesville High School, Charlottesville
Douglas Freeman High School, Richmond
Floyd E. Kellam High School, Virginia Beach
Gloucester High School, Gloucester
Grafton High School, Yorktown
Hickory High School, Chesapeake
Langley High School, McLean
Mount Vernon High School, Alexandria
Nansemond River High School, Suffolk
New Kent High School, New Kent
Northampton High School, Eastville
Northside High School, Roanoke
Piedmont Governor's School for Mathematics, Science and Technology, Collinsville
Princess Anne High School, Virginia Beach
Robert E. Lee High School, Springfield
St. Christopher's School, Richmond
St. Stephen's & St. Agnes School, Alexandria
The Governor's School for Science and Technology, Hampton
Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria
Woodbridge Senior High School, Woodbridge

To learn more about DOE's National Science Bowl competition, visit:

For more information about the National High School Science Bowl, visit:

Check out the types of questions students will answer at:

View DOE's 2009 Science Bowl press release at:


Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, manages and operates the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, or Jefferson Lab, for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. JSA is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Southeastern Universities Research Association, Inc. (SURA).

DOE’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit