36-strand NbTi Rutherford cable soldered into a copper C-Channel. [Rutherford cable dimensions = 12 mm x 1.37 mm ; Conductor dimensions = 20 mm x 2 mm ; NbTi strand diameter = 0.648 mm ; Cu:Sc ratio (strand) = 1.8 ; No. of NbTi filaments/strand = 4600 ; Twist pitch = 15 mm ; Cable short sample limit = 11 kA @ 4.2 K and 5 T]

Magnet Group

Jefferson Lab's Magnet Group is responsible for the support of existing and future superconducting and resistive magnets at the lab.

Mission and Goals

To provide magnet expertise for all magnet types, non-superconducting and superconducting, to the Jefferson Lab Nuclear Physics Operations and User communities, as outlined below:

  • Provide proactive support to the Halls and Laboratory Divisions when issues arise with the existing magnets
  • Devise and implement proactive measures to improve operational reliability of the magnets, in coordination with the Experimental Halls and Division.
  • Take responsibility to coordinate and implement global solutions that allow an effective sharing of constrained resources – e.g., cryogenic integration, magnet controls.
  • As needed, and in consultation with the Hall Engineers, work on magnet projects related to upcoming user-led nuclear physics experiments.
  • Develop credible engineering solutions for projects of high interest to the lab involving magnets, which are both further away in time but which also need development to be approved, funded or implemented

The magnet group will work in strong synergy with the Hall Engineering and Technical Groups, and other Physics and Engineering Division Technical Support Groups.

Magnet Group Personnel

Name

Position

E-mail

Phone

Ruben Fair

Electrical Engineer, Group Leader

rfair@jlab.org

269-6113

Probir K. Ghoshal

Electrical Engineer

ghoshal@jlab.org

269-6702

Sandesh Gopinath

Mechanical Engineer

gopinath@jlab.org

269-6848

David H. Kashy

Mechanical Engineer

kashy@jlab.org

269-7275

Renuka Rajput-Ghoshal

Physicist

renuka@jlab.org

269-5992

Eric Sun

Mechanical Engineer

qsun@jlab.org

269-5323

Randy Wilson

Mechanical CAD

wilsonr@jlab.org

269-6376

Dan Young

Mechanical CAD

dyoung@jlab.org

269-5255