2019 Theory Seminars

BlueJeans connections: https://bluejeans.com/610445877

Monday, January 14, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Neil Warrington (University of Maryland) 
Deforming Path Integrals: Application to the (2+1) Thirring Model [slides]

Wednesday, January 16, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Michelle Kuchera (Davidson College)
Machine Learning for event simulation and classification in the Active-Target Time Projection Chamber [slides]

Monday, January 28, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Boram Yoom (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Estimation of the Lattice QCD Observables using Machine Learning [slides]

Monday, February 4, 1:00 p.m. Room F326-F327
Ian Cloet (Argonne National Laboratory)
Unraveling Pion and Kaon Structure with the DSEs [slides]

Monday, February 11, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Peng Guo (California Bakerfield Uniersity) 
Multiple particles interaction in finite volume [slides]

Monday, February 25, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Jasmine Brewer (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) 
Sorting out jet quenching in heavy-ion collisions [slides]

Monday, March 4, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Srimoyee Sen (University of Washington) 
Anyonic particle-vortex statistic and the nature of dense QCD [slides]

Wednesday, March 6, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Pavel Sznajder (National Centre for Nuclear Research (NCBJ))
Towards extraction of GPDs: Unbiased determination of DVCS Compton Form Factors [slides]

Monday, March 11, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Abha Rajan (Brookhaven National Laboratory) 
Generalized Parton Distributions and partonic contributions to the QCD energy momentum tensor [slides]

Wednesday, March 20, 1:00 p.m. Room F326
Felix Ringer (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) 
Factorization of jet cross sections in heavy-ion collisions [slides]

Monday, March 25, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Kimmy Cushman (Yale University)
Prony Methods for Extracting Excited States [slides]

Monday, March 25, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Alessandro Baroni (University of South Carolina) 
Finite-volume formalism for two-hadron states with one current insertion [slides]

Monday, April 1, 1:00 p.m. Room TBD
Jian Liang  (University of Kentucky)
Calculating hadronic tensor on the lattice [slides]

Monday, April 22, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Jackie Noronha-Hostler (Rutgers University)  
Influences of nuclear structure on the "little bangs" from ultrarelativistic heavy ion collisions [slides]

Wednesday, April 24, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Martin Hoferichter (University Washington) 
Effective field theories for dark matter direct detection [slides]

Monday, April 29, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Aaron Meyer (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
Pion scattering to g-2 and neutrino physics in lattice QCD [slides]

Monday, May 20, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Henry Lamm  (University of Maryland)
Model-independent bounds on semi-leptonic decays $B_c^+$ [slides]

Wednesday, May 22, 1:00 p.m. Room L102
Elliot Leader  (Imperial College London)
Can LASER optics resolve the remaining particle physics angular momentum controversy  [slides]

Friday, May 31, 11:00 a.m. CEBAF Auditorium
Michael Eides  (University of Kentucky)
Pentaquarks with Hidden Charm as Hadrocharmonia [slides]

Tuesday, June 3, 1:00 p.m.
Anna Hasenfratz  (University of Colorado)
"Hidden" properties of composite systems in and out of the conformal window [slides]

Tuesday, June 4, 3:00 p.m.
Martin Savage  (University of Washington)
Entanglement and Emergent Symmetries in QCD [slides]

Tuesday, June 17, 1:00 p.m.
Matthias Burkardt  (New Mexico State University)
Transverse force tomography [slides]

Tuesday, June 17, 1:00 p.m.
Dennis Sivers  (Portalnd Physics Institute and U Michigan )
A preliminary description of strong conjecture for color confinement in QCD [slides]

Monday, July 1, 1:00 p.m.
Zhongbo Kang  (University of California, Los Angeles)
Novel opportunities for transverse momentum dependent distributions [slides]

Monday, July 8, 1:00 p.m.
Renaud Boussarie  (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
The QCD shockwave formalism as an infinite twist TMD framework [slides]

Monday, July 8, 1:00 p.m.
Shohini Bhattacharya  (Temple University)
Quasi-GPDs for quarks: model results and beyond [slides]

Monday, July 22, 1:00 p.m.
Yuri Kovchegov  (Ohio State University)
Proton Spin at Small x [slides]

Monday, August 5, 1:00 p.m.
Fabio Siringo  (University of Catania)
Perturbation theory of nonperturbative QCD [slides]

Monday, August 25, 1:00 p.m.
Ivan Vitev  (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Effective field theories in reactions with nuclei: from jets to quarkonia [slides]

Wednesday, August 28, 1:00 p.m.
Alexander Rothkopf (University of Stavanger)  
Towards in-medium heavy quarkonium dynamics from first principles [slides]

Monday, September 9, 1:00 p.m.
Ismail Zahed (Stony Brook University)  
Heavy baryons and exotics from holographic QCD [slides]

Monday, September 23, 1:00 p.m.
Mikhail Voloshin (University of Minnesota)  
Trying to understand the XYZ......P_c [slides]

Monday, September 30, 1:00 p.m.
Casey Berger (University of North Carolona)  
Rotating superfluids via complex Lavgevin [slides]

Monday, October 7, 1:00 p.m.
Alex Kovner (University of Connecticut)  
Color Glass Condensate Density Matrix [slides]

Monday, October 14, 1:00 p.m.
Sergi Gonzalez-Solis (Indiana University)  
Light Mesons from Tau Decays [slides]

Monday, October 28, 1:00 p.m.
Adam Freese (Argonne National Laboratory)  
Generalized parton distributions and access to the energy-momentum tensor [slides]

Monday, November 4, 1:00 p.m.
Craig Roberts (Nanjing University)  
Charting emergent mass [slides]

Wednesday, November 20, 1:00 p.m.
Chris Quigg (Fermilab)  
Meditations on the future of particle physics  [slides]

Monday, December 2, 1:00 p.m.
Theo Motta (Adelaide University)  
Quark structure of hadrons, nuclei and neutron stars  [slides]

Monday, December 4, 1:00 p.m.
Wim Cosyn (Florida International University)  
Neutron structure from deuteron deep inelastic scattering with spectator tagging  [slides]

Monday, December 10, 1:00 p.m.
Sergey Syritsyn (Stony Brook University)  
Calculations of nucleon EDMs on a lattice  [slides]

Wednesday, December 12, 1:00 p.m.
Michael Paolone (Temple University)  
Coulomb corrections and the Coulomb sum rule at JLab  [slides]

Archives: 

Theory Seminars 2018
Theory Seminars 2019

 

Cake Seminars 2018
Cake Seminars 2019