University Relations

The Jefferson Lab University Relations Office was created in 1991 to facilitate interactions between Jefferson Lab and the nation's universities. Its most important role is partnering with universities to help them build strong research groups focused on the Jefferson Lab scientific program. Jefferson Lab pays particular attention to the potential of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU's) and other Minority Educational Institutions (MES's), which are currently underrepresented among the users of national laboratories.

Joint and Bridge Appointments

Joint Faculty


Jefferson Lab is fortunate to have five graduate universities in its immediate neighborhood: The College of William and Mary, Christopher Newport University, Hampton University, Norfolk State University, and Old Dominion University. We also have one appointment at Indiana University and one at The Catholic University of America. It has proven particularly effective for Jefferson Lab and these universities to share staff: while sharing the costs equally, each side receives what they consider to be more than the benefit of a half-time staff member. Especially advantageous for Jefferson Lab is the large resident graduate student population these researchers bring to the Laboratory.

Hampton University
Alberto Accardi, accardi@jlab.org
Eric Christy, christy@jlab.org
Jose Goity, goity@jlab.org
Michael Kohl, kohlm@jlab.org

The College of William & Mary
Jozef Dudek, dudek@jlab.org
Kostas Orginos, kostas@jlab.org

Christopher Newport University
Ed Brash, brash@jlab.org
David Heddle, heddle@jlab.org
Peter Monaghan, peter@jlab.org
William Phelps, wphelps@jlab.org

Norfolk State University
Carlos Salgado, salgado@jlab.org

Old Dominion University
Ian Balitsky, balitsky@jlab.org
Raul Briceno, rbriceno@jlab.org
Jean Delayen, delayen@jlab.org
Anatoly Radyushkin, radyush@jlab.org
Ted Rogers, tcrogers@jlab.org
Rocco Schiavilla, schiavil@jlab.org

The Catholic University of America
Tanja Horn, hornt@jlab.org

Indiana University
Adam Szczepaniak, aszczepa@indiana.edu

Bridged Faculty


Jefferson Lab has considered, on a case-by-case basis, proposals for partnerships to build or critically strengthen Jefferson Lab-related research in the nation's universities. These partnerships are based on Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and have built into them a variety of terms (duration, cost-sharing basis, etc.) suited to each individual university's circumstances.

In all cases, the University undertakes to treat the person hired as a regular, tenure-track faculty member. These faculty are, however, released on a pro rata basis (e.g. 50% time if costs are shared or a 50-50 basis) to work on Jefferson Lab programmatic activities.

Duke University
Anselm Vossen, avossen@jlab.org

Georgia State University
Yang-Ting Chien, ytchien@jlab.org

The College of William & Mary
Christopher Monahan, monahan@jlab.org

University of California-Riverside
Miguel Arratia Munoz, miguel.arratia@ucr.edu

Virginia Tech
Maria Boer, mboer@jlab.org