Make sure you are ready for legal boating in Virginia. Local CSPS Course offered June 20 and 22 to meet new, July 1 training requirement
In 2007, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a law to establish a boating safety education compliance requirement (reference http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/).
Beginning July 1, 2016, all PWC (personal watercraft) operators age 14 years and older and all motorboat operators, regardless of age, need to take a boating safety course. By 2016, all operators of PWCs (personal watercraft such as jet skis, Sea Doos, Wave Runners, etc.) and operators of motorboats with a 10 hp or greater motor, will be required to have a boating safety education course completion card on board when operating a PWC or motorboat.
To this end, the local Colonial Sail and Power Squadron (CSPS) offers free classes to the public at prescribed intervals. As a matter of convenience to peninsula boaters, and especially those of the Jefferson Lab community, CSPS is offering a two-evening class at the Denbigh Community Center, on June 20 and 22 from 6-9 p.m.
Folks can register for the course at: https://www.register-ed.com/events/view/83238
For those unable to attend this session, future classes are anticipated by CSPS and other organizations, as well as online, for a nominal fee (~$30). Don't ruin a summer sail with a citation! Get this safety training now and be ready to enjoy the water this summer!
Contact John Musson (email@example.com) for additional information.