Jefferson Lab Establishes New Fellowships in Nuclear Physics and Accelerator Science

Fellowships in nuclear physics expanded, new fellowship in accelerator science established

NEWPORT NEWS, VA – The Department of Energy’s Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility is fostering innovation and growth in nuclear and accelerator physics by expanding its prestigious fellowship program for early career physicists. The lab is doubling the number of Nathan Isgur fellowships and is establishing a new fellowship in honor of Jefferson Lab’s first director, Hermann A. Grunder.

“These new fellowships are a sign of the lab’s continued commitment to attract the best and brightest researchers to Jefferson Lab in nuclear physics and accelerator science,” said Jefferson Lab Director Stuart Henderson.

The Nathan Isgur Postdoctoral Fellowship program aims to attract the best and brightest early career nuclear physicists who can significantly contribute to the lab's scientific program. The fellowship was established in 2002 in memory of Nathan Isgur, who served as the lab’s Theory Group leader and as its chief scientist until his death in 2001. Originally, the fellowship was targeted toward nuclear theory, but selection criteria were later broadened to include early career talent in either nuclear physics theory or nuclear physics experiment.

“We are expanding the Nathan Isgur Postdoctoral Fellowship program by creating two dedicated positions, one for theorists and one for experimentalists,” said Bob McKeown, Jefferson Lab’s deputy director for science. “This will allow us to attract and retain leading talent in both areas, as well as support new and exciting research directions.”

The Nathan Isgur Postdoctoral Fellowship program will now offer a Nathan Isgur Postdoctoral Fellowship in Nuclear Theory and a Nathan Isgur Postdoctoral Fellowship in Nuclear Experiment.

Jefferson Lab is also creating a new fellowship focused on accelerator science. The Hermann Grunder Postdoctoral Fellowship in Accelerator Science is named in honor of the first director of Jefferson Lab. It recognizes Grunder’s contributions to accelerator science and technology, including his crowning achievement in moving the Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility to a new superconducting technology and recirculating design.

Fellowship recipients are expected to take a leadership role in nuclear physics and accelerator research and will receive a three year appointment at the lab, as well as research support from the laboratory’s management and operations contractor, Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, to assist in the conduct of advanced research in their field. Positions are supported by the JSA Initiatives Fund.

“These new fellowships pay homage to the lab’s past and two leaders who were not afraid to push the envelope, while providing a path for the leaders of the future who can take the lab in new and exciting directions,” says Stuart Henderson. “We look forward to seeing the advances that early career scientists can make in these programs.”

Jefferson Lab is now accepting applications for the Nathan Isgur Postdoctoral Fellowship in Nuclear Experiment and for the Hermann Grunder Postdoctoral Fellowship in Accelerator Science.

Contact: Deborah Dowd, Jefferson Lab Communications Office,, 757-269-7180


Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, manages and operates the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, or Jefferson Lab, for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. JSA is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Southeastern Universities Research Association, Inc. (SURA).

DOE’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit