Three Young Scientists Earn DOE Graduate Research Grants at Jefferson Lab

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. -- Outstanding academic accomplishments have earned three young scientists funds to conduct part of their thesis research at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.

In December, the Department of Energy’s Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists sent letters to 65 graduate students – from 50 universities – informing them that they had been selected for DOE Office of Science Graduate Student Research Program awards. Three of those candidates will be at Jefferson Lab over the next several months, carrying out their proposed research projects.

According to the program’s website, the SCGSR program provides supplemental awards to outstanding U.S. graduate students to pursue part of their graduate thesis research at a DOE laboratory in areas that address scientific challenges central to Office of Science mission areas. The research opportunity is expected to advance the graduate students’ overall doctoral thesis while providing access to the expertise, resources, and capabilities available at the DOE laboratories.

The three graduate students selected to conduct research at Jefferson Lab are:

  • Jason Bane, University of Tennessee, with his project: The EMC Effect in Three-body Systems. His advisors are Nadia Fomin, University of Tenn., and Douglas Higinbotham, Jefferson Lab.
  • Matthew C. Burton, The College of William and Mary, with his project: Development and Characterization of Superconducting Thin Films for SRF Accelerator Cavities. His advisors are R. Ale Lukaszew, W&M, and Larry Phillips, Jefferson Lab.
  • Luke A. Robison, Northwestern University, with his project: Charmonium photoproduction near threshold with the GlueX detector at Jefferson Lab. His advisors are Kamal Seth, Northwestern, and Lubomir Pentchev, Jefferson Lab.

The research program supports outstanding graduate students pursuing Ph.D. degrees in areas of physics, chemistry, material sciences, biology (non-medical), mathematics, engineering, computer or computational sciences, or specific areas of environmental sciences that are aligned with DOE Office of Science mission areas.

"This program provides excellent opportunities for outstanding young scientists to contribute to our research program at Jefferson Lab while gaining valuable experience from their interactions with our scientific staff," noted Bob McKeown, Jefferson Lab’s deputy director for science.

More information about the SCGSR program, a complete list of 2014 award recipients and information on applying for 2015 awards are available online: The application submissions deadline for 2015 awards is April 14.


Contact: Deb Magaldi, Jefferson Lab Public Affairs, 757-269-5102,


Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, manages and operates the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, or Jefferson Lab, for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. JSA is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Southeastern Universities Research Association, Inc. (SURA).

DOE’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit