EIC Center at Jefferson Lab Announces Six New Research Awards

  • Wenliang "Bill" Li
  • Charlotte Van Hulse
  • Chiara Bissolotti
  • Bhawin Dhital
  • Jackson Pybus
  • Jennifer Rittenhouse West

Three graduate students and three postdoctoral researchers aim to advance the science of the electron-ion collider

NEWPORT NEWS, VA – The Electron-Ion Collider Center at the Department of Energy’s Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility (EIC Center at Jefferson Lab) has announced the winners of six international fellowships. The fellows will pursue research over the next year related to advancing the science program of the Electron-Ion Collider (EIC), a one-of-a-kind nuclear physics research facility to be built over the next decade at DOE's Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton, New York, in partnership with Jefferson Lab.

To enhance the research goals of this unique collider, the EIC Center at Jefferson Lab awards one-year fellowships to support the efforts of early-career scientists working on advancing the EIC. Funding for the fellowship program is provided by the Commonwealth of Virginia, and fellows must spend at least half of their time during the duration of the fellowship at Jefferson Lab in Newport News, Virginia.

Now in its third year, the program supports early-career researchers who are working on advancing the theory, accelerator design, detector design, experimental design or computing environment in support of the EIC. This year’s awardees are pursuing a wide range of R&D toward realizing the potential of the EIC.

2020 postdoctoral research fellows:

• Charlotte Van Hulse, Université Paris-Saclay (France), will develop detector requirements and optimal configurations for the study of parton distribution functions and fragmentation functions at the EIC.

• Wenliang (Bill) Li, William & Mary (Virginia), will conduct simulations of EIC u-channel exclusive production and will contribute to the forward tagging detector requirements and design.

• Jennifer Rittenhouse West, DOE’s Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (California), will conduct theoretical studies of the dynamics of diquarks and study mechanisms to explain the EMC effect.*

2020 graduate student fellows:

• Chiara Bissolotti, University of Pavia (Italy), will conduct theoretical calculations of the integrated transverse momentum distribution cross sections at next to leading order.

• Bhawin Dhital, Old Dominion University (Virginia), will study the two-energy storage ring cooler to improve the luminosity of the EIC.

• Jackson Pybus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, (Massachusetts) will study deep inelastic scattering from short-range correlated pairs and determine requirements of the far-forward detectors for these measurements.

The fellowship supports one-half of a postdoctoral or graduate student’s time on research related to the EIC, providing a $36,000 stipend to each postdoctoral fellow’s home institution and a $13,000 stipend for each graduate student fellow. Limited travel support is also available during the fellowship period.

Further Reading:
EIC Center at Jefferson Lab Announces Fellowship Awards (2018)
EIC Center at Jefferson Lab Announces Fellowship Awards (2019)

Contact: Kandice Carter, Jefferson Lab Communications Office, 757-269-7263, kcarter@jlab.org

* Information updated August 14, 2020


Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, manages and operates the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, or Jefferson Lab, for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. JSA is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Southeastern Universities Research Association, Inc. (SURA).

DOE’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit https://energy.gov/science